Skip to Content

Print Friendly

College NEWS

Battle of the Babes 2015

The Inaugural Battle of the Babes Cricket Match (5A vs 5B) was played in 1993 when the Late Mr.S.Thanapalan was the Principal and the Rev. N.J.Gnanaponrajah was the Head Master of the Primary School. The Notice of the inaugural match and the Team List weathered a quarter of a century and survived the two displacements in 1995 and 2000 (please see photo below).

The Battle waged with a softball was originally between the students of Grade 5A and 5B. In 2007, the leather ball replaced the softball and in 2008, the battle between 5A and 5B was renamed as the battle between the Reds and the Blacks.

The twentieth encounter was named D. J. Thevathason Memorial Trophy Battle of the Babes Grade 5 Cricket Match in honour of the Late Headmaster of the Primary School, Mr. D. J. Thevathason.

D. J. Thevathason Memorial Trophy Battle of the Babes Grade 5 Cricket Match was held on 16.09.2015 this year.

The Red team batted first and scored 77 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in 15 overs. In reply, Blacks scored 66 and were all out in 14.3 overs. Thus the Reds won the match by 11runs.

Image Alignment 150x150The following awards were given.

Ebenezer J.N Best Batsman
Vaishnavan P Best Bowler
Akashtheepan U Best Fielder
Kukka Gersom T Best All-Rounder
Ebenezer J.N Man of the Match



The College is doing the best it can to encourage participation in all the games and extracurricular activities especially Cricket. Only time would tell how many of the players pictured above will make it to the nationals in the years to come…

Image Alignment 580x300

back to top
Print Friendly

College NEWS